My writing process & more

Fragments has been out for a week now, it made for really good practice for writing something new after working on the same book while planning the rest of it’s series at the same time for ten years. A few days ago, I tweeted an accountability/progress thread of JUDD II—to be revealed later in this entry—and thought I’d take this chance to talk about my personal writing process here. It’s evolved and changed throughout the years and I’m sure as I continue writing, publishing, and learning about this craft that I love.

I’d like to say that I’m a plotter, but my plans tend to be anywhere from a word to a sentence for each idea and maybe a short direction as to where it goes within the narrative. Sometimes I’ll write out random scenes and periodically write out some in between, make changes where needed. After that’s all done, I’ve built my first draft.

During a re-read or two of that draft I make notes of changes and additions I want to make. Afterwards, I do a complete revision with all of those things in mind. Making sure I’ve added anything I wanted, I do a couple of re-reads of course. This step is repeated until I’m satisfied, then my manuscript is beta ready in which after they read and add their critiques, I do another redraft of parts and pieces. Sometimes the whole thing.

I’d love to explain my process of finding a beta team but it’s rather chaotic, I still haven’t fully figured it out. I’m hoping to find a main series beta team one day and when I do, I will record my research in finding a team and share it.

I will be taking a hiatus for a time from my blog. I’m going through the process of moving and I’m not sure for how long I won’t have reliable internet. I don’t believe my phone data will suffice for many things through Hotspot but we shall definitely see, the hiatus may be short lived, even non-existent, but again, we shall see. As promised last entry, I’d like to share the reveal of the next volume of The Fragmented Chronicles, JUDD II.

Sometime in the future, I will discuss the inspirations of this cover. It is of course, drawn by Wherly Luk of Irichika Illustrastions just as every cover so far has been, I’d like to hear your opinions on it either here on on my own Instagram, linked below. Fragments is available now for free on Kindle Unlimited! Paperback coming soon. The music project by Icarus, Fragmented is also available on Apple Music and Spotify, JUDD is available at most major stores and platforms. Links below.

Thank you for reading,

~ J. D. 💙🖤

Make sure to follow me here on my WordPress homepage as well as these:
Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Facebook | Goodreads

Get your copy of JUDD & FRAGMENTS both are available NOW!

JUDD Links

Queer Lit – if you live in the UK get your paperback copies here. Hopefully they’ll be able to ship outside the UK soon, too.
Barnes & Noble – hardcover, paperback and NOOK eBook.
Books2Read – eBook at major eBook stores.
Goodreads – don’t forget to add this book to your Goodreads shelves, rate and review it. Reviews help authors, especially indies!

FRAGMENTS Links

Amazon
Goodreads

Chapter Previews

Chapter I.
Chapter II.
Chapter III.
Chapter IV.

Fragments 2-chapter preview

These chapters do not reflect the final product, it is a draft prior to the final draft.

Leave a comment